Village Visit Journal 2001 – pt. 4

12 02 2006

The past couple of days, I’ve been out bonding with the elephants and lions in Pendjari Game Park with my teammates. More on that later, maybe… So many potential posts, so little time!

This is the last entry from my time out in the village. I had hoped to post this before leaving, but obviously did not. I was able to dig up a picture of the house where I stayed. It had been abandoned but my teammate Matt and I helped rebuild the place earlier in 2001 as a culture and language learning exercise. I’d love to hear your comments…

Day 4 – Thursday

Even though I was feeling bad, last night (Wed.) turned out to be quite okay. Around 3pm, I went up to the [chief’s] house and got to greet many sulum [millet beer] drinkers. Among them were some French speakers so I could communicate more. I eventually hooked up with the chief’s youngest son, Palaki, [who bears a striking resemblance to Wesley Snipes]. He helped me with [Kabiye] vocabulary and took me to the market.

It did rain, but evidently not long enough. The chief said that an ancestory was causing the rain not to fall, so he is going to sacrifice a chicken to it. I doubt I’ll get to witness it, but who knows? [I did not.]

Today I’m just laying around praying that my ride will come early. I don’t feel well. Hopefully, it is just the hard life of the village that is getting to me. I nice warm shower, soft bed, good night’s rest & talk with my wife will go a long ways toward making me feel better. (I should also add some time on the can too!)

The market was no big deal. I did get to practice my Kabiye more so that was good. I also had deal with some drunks – this is going to be a big challenge [in our minstry], but I know that God is more powerful. I’m sure to write more if my ride doesn’t show up until [the time which was] planned.

Day 4 cont.

What have I learned? Well…

  1. This life is very hard.
  2. I didn’t see the hope of life for these people – without Christ.
  3. People will listen when you speak to them in Kabiye.
  4. This life is hard – the curse of Adam.

Okay – I was just trying to be profound. It has been a good time, but maybe it could have been better. I worked alone & sat alone. It is hard to learn & practice [language] like that. Something to keep in mind next time. I probably should have walked around [the village] greeting people – oh well. In all, it was still a good time. Now, I’m ready to go home & see how my wife and kids are doing.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

