Amazing How It All Fits Together!

3 01 2006

Over the past few months, I’ve been praying through various scriptures to help focus my thoughts. Recently, I discovered that three of the passages I’d been praying separately – Psalm 119:36-7, 133, 41; 1 John 2:14 and 1 Thessalonians 5:23-4 – fit together amazingly well.

Having been blessed by praying these passages together as one piece, I’d like to share them with you in that form. Maybe you’ll find some blessing in them as well!

Turn my heart toward your statutes and not toward selfish gain.

For everything in the world — the cravings of sinful man, the lust of his eyes, the boast of what he has and does – comes not from the Father but from the world.

Turn my eyes away from worthless things; preserve my life according to your word.

The world and its desires pass away, but the man who does the will of God lives forever.

Direct my footsteps according to your word; let no sin rule over me.

May God Himself, the God of peace, sanctify you through and through. May your whole spirit, soul and body be kept blameless at the coming of our Lord Jesus Christ.

May your unfailing love come to me, O Lord, your salvation according to your promise.

The one who calls you is faithful and he will do it.

Psalm 119:36-7, 133, 41 – text in italics
1 John 2:14 – normal text
1 Thessalonians 5:23-4 – bold text

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

